Pumpkin Cinnamon Rolls w/ Cinnamon Cream Cheese Icing

Ahhhh, la, la, la  (I’m singing, can’t you tell?).  The weather is cool[er] and my pumpkins are off the vine, and this makes me happy, happy, joy, joy!

These little gems are my gift to you.  Well, not really, because I’m not up to sharing. . . .   But the recipe is my gift to you.  Bonus:  the pumpkin replaces most of the fat in the roll recipe without sacrificing flakiness or tastiness!  Thank you pumpkin!  Start puréeing those pumpkins kids and get busy.  Fall has arrived!

Pumpkin Cinnamon Rolls w/ Cinnamon Cream Cheese Icing

3¼ teaspoons dry yeast
¼ cup warm water
1 cup milk, scalded
½ cup puréed pumpkin
⅓ cup sugar
1½ teaspoons salt
1½ teaspoons cinnamon
1 egg, beaten
4 to 5 cups all-purpose (unbleached) flour

Filling:

1 tablespoon water
1 cup brown sugar
2 tablespoons cinnamon

Cinnamon Cream Cheese Frosting

2 cups powdered sugar
4 ounces cream cheese, softened
2 tablespoons butter, softened
1 teaspoon vanilla
Pinch of cinnamon
2-4 tablespoons milk or half/half

In measuring cup, mix yeast with water and allow to proof 10 minutes.

In large bowl (I used my trusty, beloved KitchenAid) mix milk with pumpkin, sugar, salt, and cinnamon.  Cool for 5 minutes.  Add yeast and egg.  Using kneading paddle, add flour, one cup at a time, mixing and then kneading for approximately 6 minutes or until dough is smooth and elastic.  Let dough rise, in an oiled bowl, until doubled in size (approx. 1½ hours).

Punch dough down and roll into a rectangle approx. 18″ x 14″.  Mix brown sugar and cinnamon in small bowl.  Sprinkle water on your hands and rub onto dough.  Sprinkle dough with sugar mixture.  Roll up jelly roll style, starting with the long side.

Cut into 12 pieces using scissors or string and place into a lightly greased 13″ x 9″ pan.  Cover with clean towel and let rolls rise for approximately 1½ hours.

Prepare frosting by mixing all ingredients together.  You can tweak the milk and sugar to reach the consistency you desire.  Set aside.

Preheat to 350° and bake approximately 20 minutes or until rolls are done.  Ice the rolls and let the fun begin!

Note: I tried putting the rolls, once sliced, into the refrigerator overnight for a rise in the morning.  I didn’t like what happened to the filling.  However, I also put slices in the freezer for a later time, and they froze beautifully.

As always, for more yeast love, check out: YeastSpotting!

10 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Rachel
    Oct 15, 2010 @ 10:01:05

    Yum! Those look sooo rich! I love recipes that replace fat with pumpkin.

    Reply

    • Karma Per Diem
      Oct 17, 2010 @ 07:59:30

      They were pretty darn good–I’d like to say that I love replacing the fat as well, but honestly, I just really, really love pumpkin. Kind of a bonus that it replaces fat!

      Reply

  2. Patty
    Oct 15, 2010 @ 09:23:51

    btw – I tried emailing you to let you know your rolls are up on our homepage (but the email got sent back for some reason…) anyways they’re up – thank you!

    Reply

  3. Patty
    Oct 14, 2010 @ 18:37:24

    What an awesome addition to a classic cinnamon roll – pumpkin! I recently made “pumpkin frozen yogurt” and included orange blossom honey and spice – yum. 🙂

    Reply

  4. Dayce
    Oct 02, 2010 @ 13:25:48

    Recipe looks great. I’ll try an egg-free version and let you know how it turns out. My LO loves eating cooked pureed pumpkin right out of the can.
    Cheers!
    Dayce

    Reply

    • Karma Per Diem
      Oct 02, 2010 @ 15:22:16

      Sounds good–I’d like to know how the egg-free version is! I adore pumpkin so much that last night I made a pumpkin cafe au lait! Heaven!! Thanks for checking out my site; I’ll return the favor!

      Reply

  5. Cathy (breadexperience)
    Oct 01, 2010 @ 06:59:46

    Your pumpkin cinnamon rolls look so good. I have some puree in the freezer from last year. I just may have to make these babies. Thanks for sharing! I’m so glad it’s Fall.

    Reply

  6. Trackback: YeastSpotting October 1, 2010 | Wild Yeast
  7. Debra
    Sep 30, 2010 @ 20:10:22

    Oh….those look scrumptious! I want to reach through my monitor and eat them all…lol!

    Reply

Leave a comment

Top Clicks

  • None