Thai Seafood Pumpkin Curry

If you know me, you know I love Fall and pumpkins!  Better Half is away at work for a couple of weeks, and I must confess that while he’s away I don’t fix normal dinners for myself.  I’ll eat popcorn, cereal, cake. . . .   I must, absolutely must, cook something decent.  I’m worth it!  Of course, I really want pumpkin bars or something of the sort, but that would be bad.  Very bad.

Pumpkin.  Hum.  I had shrimp in the freezer, along with flounder.  Half a can of frozen red curry paste.  Frozen peppers.  Coconut milk.  See where I’m headed?

This is really not a set recipe, per se, and it’s very forgiving.  I would have used chicken, mushrooms, fresh peppers, bamboo shoots, etc., if I’d had them.   If you don’t have the fish sauce, forget about it!  Same with lime leaves—instead throw in half a lime!  Also, I like my curry more like a soup, so I make mine with a lot of liquid and mix it with the rice.  All I can say is when I was done, I ran my finger around the inside of the bowl and. . . .

Thai Seafood Pumpkin Curry

½ onion,  chopped or sliced
2 tablespoons red curry paste
2 tablespoons butter
1 cup sliced or chopped peppers
4 cloves garlic, minced
1# pureed pumpkin
4 cups seafood or chicken broth
3 lime leaves, torn (I really do have a mini lime tree!)
2″ piece of lemongrass, smashed
¼ cup fish sauce
½ cup basil leaves, torn
14 ounce can coconut milk
¼# flounder, cut into ½″ pieces
1# shelled, cleaned shrimp
Garnish: chopped basil and chopped scallions
Salt/Pepper, to taste

3 cups prepared Jasmine or Basmati rice

In large stock-pot, sauté onion and curry paste in butter.  After onions have softened, add peppers, garlic, pumpkin, broth, lime leaves, lemongrass, fish sauce, and basil.  Heat over med-low for approximately 15 minutes, stirring occasionally.Bring to a slow simmer and add coconut milk, flounder, and shrimp.  Cook for about one minute or until fish and shrimp are done.  Season to taste with salt and pepper.  Serve over Jasmine or Basmati rice.   Garnish with chiffonade of basil and chopped scallions. 

1 Comment (+add yours?)

  1. Jennifer, Cracker, Kaci, and Taryn
    Sep 29, 2010 @ 22:12:26

    Yup, this one seems to be a winner… Will have to try it!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

