Pita Bread

I’ve always wanted to make pita bread and was surprised at how easy it is to make.  Better Half’s favorite burger is a Greek burger I make similar to a Greek gyro and why not use fresh, homemade pita bread?  Better Half’s worth the effort!

The one tip I did not follow, and I oh so wish I had, was that as soon as the pitas are out of the oven (and after you press down on each one to release the air bubbles) you should package them.  I think they would have stayed softer if I had put them in a plastic bag.  Oh well, lesson learned.  I’m going to try these again.  As for the corn tortillas?  I think I’ll keep buying them at the grocery store!

Homemade Pita Bread

2¼ teaspoons yeast
½ cup warm water
3 cups all-purpose flour (I prefer unbleached)
1¼ teaspoon salt
1 teaspoon granulated sugar
1 cup lukewarm water

In small bowl or measuring cup, dissolve yeast in 1/2 cup of warm water.  Stir in sugar and allow mixture to rise and foam (approx. 10 minutes).

In mixer with kneading attachment combine flour and salt.  Add yeast water and slowly add 1 cup of warm water.  Knead approximately 7 minutes or until dough is smooth and elastic.

Coat large bowl with oil and place dough in bowl, turning until all sides of dough are coated with oil.  Let dough rise, in a warm place free of drafts, until it has doubled in size (approx. 2 hours).

Once dough has doubled, on a floured surface roll the dough into a rope and cut into 10 equal pieces which you will then roll into balls.  Allow to rest, covered, for approximately 15 minutes.  Meanwhile, place baking stone or cookie sheet on bottom rack of oven and preheat oven to 500°.

Roll each ball into a circle approximately 6″ in diameter and bake for 4-5 minutes until bread is puffy.  Turn bread over and bake another 1-2 minutes.  Immediately after removal from oven, use your spatula to push down the air pockets on the pitas.  Immediately place in storage bag.

For more yeast love, check out YeastSpotting!

6 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Trackback: Pita, Sourdough Pizza and Stewed Aubergines « hep-i-book'a
  2. girlichef
    Sep 10, 2010 @ 12:51:44

    I have been meaning to make pita forever…but for some reason keep putting it off. You’ve inspired me again…yours look perfect 🙂

    Reply

  3. Trackback: YeastSpotting 9.10.10 | Wild Yeast
  4. Joyce
    Sep 09, 2010 @ 07:53:31

    I don’t have a bread mixer attachment, but I still think I might be smart enough do to this.

    Reply

Leave a comment