Caramel Cake

Nirvana, Heaven, Sublime…  I’m not going to lie (again, because lying is bad for karma).  This is an amazing slice of supremeness (real word?) to put in your cake-hole.  I saw this recipe in Food & Wine and knew that I had to bake it.  Correction:  Had. To. Eat. It.

It is a little time-consuming.  I suggest making the three cake layers the day before and making the caramel icing the next day.  The reasons are that it does take a while to get the caramel made and it seriously takes time for the caramel to set up.  I was icing that cake for a long time.  Next time I will let the caramel set up for way longer than 15 minutes.  The caramel between the layers set up fine, but I will not frost the top and sides next time until I know it’s really thick and will set.

Please, do yourself a big cake-love favor and make this cake.  This is one of those cakes that I would pay serious money to just have a slice.  It’s that good.

7 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Ela
    Nov 17, 2010 @ 23:40:06

    Thank you for posting the recipe for Caramel Cake. I’ve been searching hi and lo for a caramel icing. Does this caramel icing remains creamy and doesn’t become gritty at all?

    Reply

    • Karma Per Diem
      Nov 18, 2010 @ 06:48:21

      Hi Ela–glad you found it! Yes, the caramel stayed creamy and maybe this is because I stored it at room temperature and not in the fridge. I do think, next time, I might try to find superfine granulated sugar. That definitely would keep it creamy. Plus, I’m not sure if humidity, or lack of, affects it as well. It was divine! Let me know how yours turns out!

      Reply

      • Ela
        Dec 28, 2010 @ 19:49:23

        I’m back to tell you that my caramel cake failed!!! It the icing wasn’t as smooth and creamy looking as yours. It curdled. I followed the instructions carefully and the end result was a disappointment. What could have I done wrong?

      • WhiteRiverBluff
        Dec 28, 2010 @ 20:44:44

        No, are you serious?? I’m so sorry Ela. I had such good luck with mine…. Do you think humidity played a part? What a bummer. If I could make you one, I would!

  2. Michael Beyer
    Oct 12, 2010 @ 08:18:59

    yum! I thought of making that recipe too. I love caramel and making it is a lot of fun. I had a ball making these homemade caramel apples by Martha Stewart. Perfect for Halloween!
    http://michaelbeyer.wordpress.com/2010/10/10/classic-caramel-apples/

    Reply

  3. barbarabakes
    Sep 10, 2010 @ 19:05:45

    Definitely looks like supremeness to me too!

    Reply

  4. Joyce
    Sep 07, 2010 @ 07:59:21

    Oh man that looks Good!!!

    Reply

Leave a comment