Burnt Butter Pecan Banana Bread (BBPBB)

Yes, you see BBPBB and one muffin.  Better Half’s favorite time of the year is hunting fall.  During this time of the year he is in and out of the house doing his manly Paul Bunyan thing (and I do love a man in a plaid shirt!) and helping us “live off the land” (right….).   He always is looking for something quick to eat and take to the woods so here’s where BBPBB frozen in the freezer comes in.

I realize it’s August and hot, and I’m not about to go outside, so I’m doing my part as a DG (that’s Domestic Goddess to you) and stocking the freezer for fall.  However, instead of traditional banana bread, I had this idea that I would kick it up a notch.  I was looking for something along the lines of butter pecan and Eureka!  Burnt butter.  Using a tried and true banana bread recipe, I took the butter and while the pecans were toasting in the oven, cooked it in a saucepan until it was nice and dark caramel: burnt.  Then I mixed the sugar with it and I kid you not, my kitchen smelled like I was making pecan pralines.  Ahhhh.

Oh, why the one muffin?  Hello–I’m not about to make a loaf of BBPBB for the freezer and not have a little something for my  instant gratification needs!  I saved just enough batter to cook one muffin in the oven along with the bread.  I must confess that when I cracked open the muffin, I put a sliver of butter (yes, more butter) on it and….

3 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Trackback: Cinnamon Brown Butter Frosting (WFMW) | my kitchen addiction
  2. Erin
    Aug 11, 2010 @ 20:11:19

    I’ll pay you to send me a loaf right now…. YUM!

    Reply

Leave a comment