Homemade Feta Cheese

A former co-worker tracked me down one day and knowing my love of making wine and champagne (that’s a whole other topic), told me I had to try making cheese.  Cheese…  A friend and I always had talked about how fun it would be to make cheese, but never went any further than talk.  I love cheese.  I mean, I really love cheese.   I can eat the darkest blue-veined cheese imaginable just by popping it straight into my pie-hole.  I know they say your body is mostly water; mine is mostly whey.  No kidding.  After securing a sample of the necessary (four)  ingredients, such as lipase and culture, I made my first batch of feta cheese.  Heaven in a big ‘ole salty brine!  I can’t bring myself to buy feta cheese from the store now.  This stuff rocks.  Seriously rocks.  I’ve also made goat cheese and find it scrumptious, but finding fresh goat milk hasn’t been easy.  For the directions I use in making feta cheese, check out Fias Co Farm’s website.  It may seem overwhelming when reading it, but it’s embarrassingly easy, and the goat cheese I can do with my eyes blind-folded.  Okay, I haven’t really tried that yet because I’m a klutz, but if my better half would let me, I’d be willing to give it a whirl!  I promise if you try cheese, you will love making it!

1 Comment (+add yours?)

  1. Gumbo1956
    Aug 11, 2010 @ 10:00:55

    That is the most beautiful creamy-looking cheese!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

