Chocolate Covered Cherry Fudge

The angels are singing.

I wanted to send Valentine love to my most favorite people in the universe and fudge is a family favorite.   This is so decadent.  5+ pounds of fudge-love.  When it sits for a couple of minutes before eating, I promise you the white fudge around the cherry gets kinda oozy just like a chocolate covered cherry.  Sublime.  Bad news?  I’m worried about shipping because one of its destinations is a place where a “cold spell” is 80°.  Hum, maybe my most favorite people in the universe need to come here to eat fudge-love.   I think if the white fudge gets too hot during shipping it will become runny because of the moisture in the cherries.  I really think know I did not dry them well enough.  It’s perfect for slicing straight out the fridge and eating, but shipping to a warm climate. . . .    Jiminy Crickets, what to do with 5+  pounds of fudge-love?  This is not part of my “a better me in 2011” plan.  I think I will call UPS and FedEx about dry ice.

This is embarrassingly easy.  I will never win a prize for an original recipe, but dang it, this combo is killer.  Better Half was losing his mind with fudge-love, which is strange because he’s a potato chip kind of guy.

I took 24 hours to make this fudge because I wanted to make sure my white fudge was set really hard.  Next time I’ll make sure the cherries have dried overnight in the fridge before incorporating into the fudge.

Chocolate Covered Cherry Fudge

(Bottom layer: White Cherry Fudge)

3 cups sugar
3/4 cup butter (1.5 sticks)
2/3 cup evaporated milk
1 12-oz. package white chocolate chips
1 7-oz. jar Kraft Marshmallow crème
1 teaspoon vanilla extract (I use homemade)
2 jars (approx. 10 ounces each) maraschino cherries, drained, rough-chopped, and dried thoroughly

Combine sugar, butter and milk in heavy 2-1/2 quart saucepan; bring to boil, stirring constantly, until candy thermometer reaches 234°.  Remove from heat, stir in chips, marshmallow crème and vanilla.  Beat until blended.  Gently fold in maraschino cherries.  Pour into foil-lined 9″ loaf pan.  Allow to cool at least six hours in refrigerator.

(Top layer: Milk Chocolate Fudge)

3 cups sugar
3/4 cup butter (1.5 sticks)
2/3 cup evaporated milk
1 12-oz. package milk chocolate chips
1 7-oz. jar Kraft Marshmallow crème
1 teaspoon vanilla extract (I use homemade)

Combine sugar, butter and milk in heavy 2-1/2 quart saucepan; bring to boil, stirring constantly, until candy thermometer reaches 234°.  Remove from heat, stir in chips, marshmallow crème and vanilla.  Beat until blended.  Remove cherry fudge from refrigerator and using a heat-proof spatula, gently pour and spread fudge (about ¼ cup at a time) on top of cherry fudge.  Allow to cool at least six hours in refrigerator.  Note:  you will probably have leftover milk chocolate fudge unless your loaf pan is extremely tall.  This is not a bad thing. . . .

Happy Valentine’s Day to those I love!

16 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Cheryl
    Jan 16, 2012 @ 01:57:56

    Seriously….no seriously…did you make this just especially for me??! All of my favourite things smushed into one recipe! Thanks so much!

    Reply

  2. Trackback: Chocolate Cherry Fudge! YUM | (Insert Something Witty)
  3. Amanda McMillen
    Feb 20, 2011 @ 14:54:51

    Wow this looks sooooooo good! I think I would want to try it with fresh cherries though.

    Reply

  4. nancyspoint
    Feb 12, 2011 @ 14:45:56

    Lisa, This does indeed look divine! You could probably sell it! Seriously.

    Reply

  5. Tonya
    Feb 11, 2011 @ 10:33:58

    As usual you out did yourself…this might be a little too difficult for a person like me….

    XOXOXO

    Reply

  6. Sandie {A Bloggable Life}
    Feb 11, 2011 @ 09:37:09

    I should try this, hubs is a big-time cherry fan. Happy early Valentine’s Day to you, Lisa!

    Reply

  7. Kim
    Feb 10, 2011 @ 20:36:39

    o.m.g.! vising from ediblecrafts… so glad to find you! SO on the to make list! YUM!

    hugs! Kim @ Party Frosting!

    Reply

  8. Lovely Daughter
    Feb 09, 2011 @ 16:30:52

    Save some for me when I come home next Mom! I want some!

    Reply

  9. cpeezers
    Feb 08, 2011 @ 23:51:19

    Wow. wow. That looks like heaven delight. 🙂

    Reply

  10. Amber
    Feb 08, 2011 @ 21:28:03

    Very nice idea. I love cherries and chocolate!

    Reply

  11. Sue
    Feb 08, 2011 @ 14:53:53

    Lisa,
    80 degrees! Does that mean you were sending some to me? hee hee Seriously, it looks good and sinful. I’ll have to try it someday.
    Aloha,
    Sue

    Reply

  12. Jennifer
    Feb 08, 2011 @ 10:58:15

    Wait! Could it be that there might be some coming to me? I mean to your little precious princesses? No worries! It’s been mostly in the 60s and 70s here. And if they have melted, I will be sure to take care of them…

    Reply

  13. bethany
    Feb 08, 2011 @ 10:54:20

    mmmm!! I’ll be making this too! Thanks for sharing. Happy Valentine’s Day!

    Reply

  14. Marge Buckner
    Feb 08, 2011 @ 09:20:37

    Hi Lisa!
    I’m Joyce Cox’s mom and she sent me your Web page showing the recipe for Chocolate Covered Cherry Fudge. This sounds sinfully good and I will have to try it sometime. Joyce also tells me that you are a great cook and I am subscribing to this site.
    Thanks,
    Marge B.

    Reply

  15. Joyce
    Feb 08, 2011 @ 07:47:51

    Oh man, I have to try to make this fudge!

    Reply

Leave a comment