A Little Rant: “Perfect Boobs” Seriously??

I kid you not.

While channel surfing through Dish Network this Sunday morning, I was struck by this wording:  Perfect Boobs.  First and foremost, let me say I find the title a little very demeaning, inappropriate, and demeaning, particularly on Sunday at 8 a.m.  Second, just the title alone is enough to perpetuate the myth that one (uh, meaning female) should strive to be perfect.  Third, well, let’s just say there are many more things I’d like to say, but I’m going to be a lady and keep them to myself.

I love pretty things, and most days (today not being one of them) I want to look-if not good-then at least presentable.  But perfect?  Do I really need to be perfect?  Or is that just certain parts of my female anatomy need to be perfect? And whom determines whether or not they’re perfect?  What an advertising ploy for a bra.  Call it “Perfect Bra” or (shocker) it’s name: Genie Bra, and maybe I’d have checked it out.  I hope and pray a man came up with this title and not a female because that might put me over the e.d.g.e.

Dear Mr. Idiot (please, please be a man):

You are sexist and you insult consumers (and don’t even get me started about breast cancer survivors).  I do not need to be perfect to love myself or have someone love me.  What exactly is your definition of perfect?  Let me tell you something, no female’s “boobs” are perfect, and I don’t give a rat’s rear what bra you slap on her chest.  My “boobs” will never be perfect. . . because one is half-missing and was filled with cancer.  No bra can or will ever make me perfect in your eyes.  That’s okay because in Better Half’s eyes I (not my body parts) am perfect (most days….) and better yet, I am alive.  I have fought the hard fight and I am winning.  To me, that is perfection.

Mr. Idiot, perhaps you should concern yourself with making some body part on yourself “perfect.”

P.S. to Dish Network: shame on you for allowing that wording to be placed right above the cartoon Angelina Ballerina–just great for little girls (and boys) to see. . . .

18 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. devin
    Oct 31, 2011 @ 17:32:38

    They say women are vain. I believe men are vain & women have to compete in their vanity game if they want a chance at getting a half way decent male; afterall, there are far & few men to get. Most men are either ugly, stupid, evil or gay (which by the way, are where most of the good looking men fall). Women are still looked at as objects; yet, without a woman’s guidance & wisdom, men would be walking around in circles saying “Where do I go, Where do I go?” Women are considered whores but men are the ones who whore around more. Get this men, if women weren’t so called whores, you men wouldn’t be having all that sex you brag about. In that sense I guess, It takes one to know one. What really kills me is how they always have an old man with a young woman on talk shows, news or movies; don’t they think women would like to see a hot male. Maybe men can’t stand alone looking good without a hot women (unfortunately there aren’t as many hottie men as women). Women they look good!

    Reply

  2. Nancy
    Sep 22, 2011 @ 10:50:07

    I had breast cancer 22 years ago, I wasn’t perfect then nor am I now. I lost a breast and had reconstruction, so I am way,way,away from being perfect. But I am perfect in the eyes of the husband that had only been my husband for almost a year back then. I was so scared that I would not be perfect for him.. He told me very sternly that he did not marry me for my boobs…… So for twenty-three years he has been perfect for me..

    Reply

    • Karma Per Diem
      Sep 22, 2011 @ 17:19:23

      Oh Nancy, I can only imagine how scared you were; however, you sound like you married a gem, as did I. So glad he’s perfect for you and hope your health is perfect too! 🙂

      Reply

  3. Stacey
    Sep 20, 2011 @ 10:34:12

    Great and well justified rant, Lisa! I’m shocked it had that title. What were they thinking?

    Reply

  4. ramblingdesigns
    Sep 19, 2011 @ 21:09:40

    OMG! I am sooooo glad we don’t have cable/dish any more! LOL That’s just rubbish! All around!
    I may not be “perfect” by some TV producer’s standards, but I sure AM perfect by my husband’s and my children’s standards (not just talking looks now) That is the only standard I WANT to measure up to! No bra can help me there! That has to come from a place that matters: THE HEART!

    *grumble mutter* LOL Sorry about the rant! 😀

    Reply

  5. Tracy Ragan
    Sep 19, 2011 @ 21:01:52

    Hello my friend!! You tell them!!! Miss you and would LOVE to see you!!

    Reply

    • Karma Per Diem
      Sep 20, 2011 @ 08:48:18

      AH!!! It’s Tracy!! Hi girlfriend–I can’t believe we haven’t seen each other in over 16+ years…. What is our problem (beside distance?)?! Miss you and would also LOVE, LOVE to see you as well!

      Reply

  6. nancyspoint
    Sep 19, 2011 @ 08:52:55

    I love how you rant! You go, sistah!

    Reply

  7. Lovely Daughter
    Sep 18, 2011 @ 17:26:19

    You go Momma.

    Reply

  8. Laurie
    Sep 18, 2011 @ 16:33:23

    I went to one of my orthopedic surgeon’s follow-up appointments and this infomercial was playing in the waiting room much to the chagrin of one very red-faced fourteen year old boy.

    Even the women in the room were embarrassed by being forced to watch this commercial. One of the women commented, “I wouldn’t waste my money one of those things, nothing but major surgery could make these girls look ‘Perfect’.” Another commented, “look at what they’re teaching the women of tomorrow – that they’ve got to be perfect, why? Nobody is perfect.”

    We finally convinced the receptionist to change the channel, not only to help the boy but frankly most of the women in the room found the whole commercial offensive.

    Reply

  9. BreastCancerSisterhood.com
    Sep 18, 2011 @ 16:10:38

    You’ve got to wonder what programming police gives shows like this a pass, especially next to a kids’ channel. I went to a cancer fundraiser last night & was shocked at how many “healthy” women were proudly showing off really bad boob jobs. I mean, really bad! The only way I would have deliberately showed those off was if I’d had a lobotomy as well & therefore, didn’t have the reasoning ability to tell how awful they were.

    Reply

    • Karma Per Diem
      Sep 21, 2011 @ 19:39:19

      I agree; someone was obviously no using “his” head when he 1) came up with this title; and 2) when this was approved for Sunday a.m. I’m not sure how I would handle the bad boob jobs–awkward!

      Reply

Leave a Reply

