9/11 Coloring Book–Seriously?

Not for kids in my life.

I was disappointed when I realized the publisher of the above coloring book is a Missouri company.   I was shocked when I saw the graphic pictures inside and almost apoplectic when the initial run of 10k copies sold out.  I really don’t want to help publicize this disturbing coloring book, but I have to wonder why we can’t allow our children to remain children.  They’re innocent for such a short period in their lives and to burden them with images of violence and terrorism in a coloring book strikes me as irresponsible and dangerous.  I’m all for freedom of speech, freedom of the press, blah, blah, but to me this borders on insane and absurd.  The publisher says the book is based on market research and people telling them what they want. . . .  I pray I never come across these “people” in my lifetime.

I will never buy a coloring book from Really Big Coloring Books.

6 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Cristina
    Sep 07, 2011 @ 07:42:56

    ….this crazy running after money no matter what….

    Reply

  2. Trackback: A Coloring Book of 9/11
  3. Rachel Palmieri
    Sep 02, 2011 @ 06:40:42

    Totally agree…the only thing that something like this does is perpetuate hate and fear.

    Reply

  4. Lovely Daughter
    Sep 01, 2011 @ 19:25:19

    Agreed Mom. The images in that colouring book are awful, prejudicial, and all about promoting biases in kids. Kids don’t need that. They’ll be stressed enough about stuff when they older. Bad stuff.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

