Vindication. . . .

Do you feel vindicated?

Hum, when the reporter asked me that question, I fumbled.  Yes.  Well, no.  Sort of. . . .   Does vindicated mean “set free”?  If that’s the case, then no.  Well, maybe.   “The truth will set you free.”  It’s the truth, so I guess I should feel free.

It’s been a long 16 months, but the truth about my former boss/workplace is finally coming out.  Reporters have been calling the house and people are calling saying hallelujah!  It’s on the radio, Lisa!  Wow, did you see the newspaper, Lisa?  Holy cow Lisa, it’s in the state newspaper!  OMG, it was on the nighttime news!  It’s been a crazy two weeks, and while I’ve been attempting to maintain my social life, appointments, etc., I’ve been ignoring my blog.   I’m scattered; all over the place.  Insomnia is my nightmare friend/enemy once again.  I finally picked up my knitting, something, anything, to keep busy.

Of course, not everyone is sympathetic.  I’m trying to understand certain persons may not understand the process of reporting corruption.  They expect you to report it the instant it happens, well, before it happens or immediately after.  It just doesn’t work that way.  Corruption is an evil, slow process.  First, there is disbelief, confusion.  Next, you feel caught, trapped; who do you turn to?  Yes, it would be nice if corruption never got a chance to take hold and weave its evil spiral, but that’s not the way the world works.  You’re scared, frightened.  You’ve been warned.  You don’t want to lose your job.  You feel guilty by association.  Then, when you get the courage to speak, you’re told to shut up.  This never happened.   This is a good place.  We have no discipline problems here.  Blind eyes.  Or worse, the person you trusted spills your secrets and next thing you know you’re out of there.  So, you mean-spirited people who doubt my motives, doubt away, but you weren’t there, you didn’t live through the pain.

Three things cannot be long hidden: the sun, the moon, and the truth. ~ Buddha

8 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. mc
    Aug 02, 2011 @ 10:25:45

    It’s funny how living correctly and making good decisions ultimately leads to enemies. At least you know that those who stick by you are the friends who have the same values that you have.

    Reply

  2. nancyspoint
    Aug 01, 2011 @ 07:09:21

    Lisa, I’m sorry you have been going through all of this for so long, but it sounds like you played an important role somewhere in there. Good for you! I hope you’ll share more when you’re ready.

    Reply

  3. Sue
    Aug 01, 2011 @ 01:40:41

    Lisa,
    I do not know the story either, but I do know that you have been deeply wounded by your former employer, and I am glad you have some vindication for your pain. Sending you hugs and prayers my friend and I’ll be sending them tomorrow too!

    Reply

  4. cpeezers
    Jul 31, 2011 @ 23:53:20

    Congratulations! I don’t know the story but it sounds like you were pretty heroic to me!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

