What Happened to M’am?

Ah, kids these days. . . .

We were peacefully walking in the park when we were ambushed, literally, by three kids hooligans.  Young ones.  At first it was funny because they were so silly acting; it quickly became annoying.  Very annoying.  They were old enough to know better.  They wanted attention.  Finally, not getting the responses they were hoping for, they moved on to other people trying to enjoy the trail.  These people were smarter than us because they completely ignored them.  When we met up with these walkers I was concerned they would think those rude kids were ours since they had been hanging around us.  I cleared up that potential misconception quite quick!

We all agreed that when we were children we never would have approached strangers, let alone approached strangers with the sole purpose of becoming nuisances.  After I left, my friend R said the kids approached some elderly persons visiting the Senior Citizen for square-dancing, poking fun of their clothes.

Where were the parents?  These kids were around seven to ten years of age—way too young, in my humble opinion, to be allowed to hang around a park unsupervised.   Lovely Daughter is 21, lives in an apartment while attending college three hours from home, and I still require her to check in with us every single day.

I feel like an old fogey, wondering what is happening to our youth when it seems, at times, that yesterday I was in my youth!  My parents would have been appalled (not to mention livid) if their children had ever been disrespectful to adults.  We were taught to say m’am, sir, please, thank you. . . .    I feel I can’t blame the children 100% because the parents must not have taught these children respect.  Lazy parenting?

Am I wrong?  Does it seem like kids are getting bolder?  Are parents not teaching their children respect?

9 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Sue
    Jun 28, 2011 @ 17:07:51

    I am glad you posted this. You already know how I feel about the lack of adequate, good parenting these days, so I won’t get on my soapbox on your blog. I’m afraid our society in general is not a polite place at the moment although I hope there is hope and it changes.

    Reply

  2. mc
    Jun 23, 2011 @ 15:35:00

    I want to assure you that you have done a fine job with “Lovely Daughter”. I interact with her on a daily basis and she is in fact lovely, polite, mannerly, respectful, confident, and empathetic. She is a wonderful reflection of good parenting 🙂

    Reply

  3. cpeezers
    Jun 22, 2011 @ 19:34:55

    I was surprised to read how young the kids were! To already be that bold and disrespectful – I thought you were going to say they were teenagers at least. That’s too bad. I wonder too where the parents were. I hope that I teach Davey much much better than that.

    Reply

  4. Janet Taber
    Jun 21, 2011 @ 10:50:33

    You are absolutely right in saying that parents are NOT teaching their kids respect for much of anything, even older people. This is a sad state of affairs and warrants our concern. Someday perhaps the president’s wife, or some other public person who gets press when she/he takes a stand, will decide this is worthy of public notice. But I’m not holding my breath, waiting for this to happen. Visiting in churches these days is eye-opening–kids don’t know how to sit down, be still and not be noisy during a service. Going to a school graduation? The parents are the offenders! They talk out loud, say inappropriate things, make it impossible for others to enjoy the ceremony. Makes you want to hide away and retreat from a society that seems to be going downhill fast! But I hate negativity–so let’s find some good kids and focus on them. And praise some good parents…they need all the encouragement they can get, being so much in the minority!

    Reply

  5. Kristina
    Jun 21, 2011 @ 10:22:24

    Kids have always been jerks. I didn’t like them even when I was one. I don’t think it’s so much “kids today” or “parents today” as it is “lousy parents throughout time.”

    Reply

Leave a Reply

