White Bean & Sun-Dried Tomato Dip

Pretty in pink.

Better Half was up north at our “farm” enjoying pond building and pond blitzing with buddies (for you not in the know, pond blitzing is visiting as many ponds as you possibly can and fishing the heck out of ’em).  As for me, I enjoyed ME time!  Saturday night my dear friend R came over with her knitting and a delicious shrimp and corn salad.  I provided wine and appetizers for our girls-night-in, which is how I came up with this delicious White Bean & Sun-Dried Tomato Dip.

Before sharing this simple recipe, I must tell you that R and I cracked ourselves up that evening.  My sweet friend J (with whom Better Half stayed part of the time) sent me a text/picture of her cooking for the pond blitzers.  I cheekily sent her a picture of R and I toasting each other with our wine glasses.  J replied with a picture of her chugging a bottle of wine.  Hilarious!  However, she’s messing with a master.  I grabbed two antique “hooch” jugs and sent back a picture of us drinking out of the jugs.  Then, we took a picture of us with straws drinking out of 5-gallon carboys.  To finish the fun, the final picture was us drinking out of a spigot from a 5-gallon vat.  We were being so silly, but we were busting our guts. We’re not done. . . .  Dear J, we wish you had been here with us instead of taking care of the fishy-smelly guys!

White Bean & Sun-Dried Tomato Dip

1 can cannellini beans, rinsed and drained
¼ cup sun-dried tomatoes (packed in olive oil is best)
1 T capers
2 cloves garlic (or more if you like)
Dash of red pepper flakes
1-2 T olive oil
Salt and pepper, to taste

Combine first five ingredients in food processor and pulse until well blended.  While processor is running, drizzle in olive oil and blend until smooth.  Season to taste with salt and pepper.  Serve with fresh veggies, crackers, or fresh baguette slices.

12 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. nancyspoint
    Jun 16, 2011 @ 15:41:59

    Looks delicious and I love asparagus, so the combo would be wonderful! Oh, and you sure know how to have a good time!!

    Reply

  2. Jayne (@jaynerly)
    Jun 15, 2011 @ 09:18:49

    Sounds like you had fun! Dip sounds great!

    Reply

  3. cpeezers
    Jun 14, 2011 @ 22:42:33

    This recipe looks wonderful. I want to try this, and now I want to try sandysays hush puppies too!

    Reply

  4. Charlie
    Jun 13, 2011 @ 12:27:01

    This looks delicious! I love white bean dip, but I’ve never made it with Sun-dried tomatoes. I am absolutely adding to the summer gathering list!

    Reply

  5. Joyce
    Jun 13, 2011 @ 08:06:05

    I actually had fun taking care of the fishy smelly guys. But I would have had more fun if you had been with us! Also, I did not receive the final picture of the 5-gallon vat. hmmmm. You better half is on his way home. Sorry I couldn’t keep him any longer. This recipe look delicious, and I think I can make it!

    Reply

    • KarmaPerDiem aka WhiteRiverBluff
      Jun 13, 2011 @ 10:48:31

      I’m glad you had fun with the fishy smelly guys! What?? You didn’t get the 5-gallon vat pic? Probably because we were laughing so darn hard as we were sending them to you, it got lost in the mix! It’s on its way! And yes, you absolutely can make that recipe–you’re an amazing cook!

      Reply

  6. Janet Taber
    Jun 13, 2011 @ 07:33:35

    YUM!! What were the preferred dippers??

    Reply

  7. SandySays1
    Jun 13, 2011 @ 06:59:18

    It looks yummy and the recipe a do-able one. Thanks! By the way, if your frying up those “blitz” fish and want some yummy hush puppies, try my previous post about the shuttle launch and that recipe. Try um, You’ll like them.
    Sandy
    http://www.sandysays1.wordpress.com

    Reply

Leave a Reply

