Do I Have a W(h)ine Problem?

Isn’t this how all tubs are used?

I do like good wine and bubbly; but I’m cheap.  Cheap, I tell ya!   Therefore, I whine about wine prices.  My solution:  homemade wine and bubbly.  Folks, I may live in the Ozarks, but the stuff I make ain’t moonshine and doesn’t taste like lighter fluid!

However, I still whine about wine.  I whine because I hate cleaning wine bottles.  Of course, once you clean a ton of them, you’re set— until you realize you’re hooked and you want to make even more wine or bubbly.

It’s a fun hobby for me and very gratifying to have really good wine or bubbly always on hand.  What got me started was when my dear friend C started making wine and bubbly and I saw she had about 1,500 bottles in her wine cellar!  She was (and still does) experimenting with different wines, liqueurs and bubbly, and that’s when it hit me:  I too am worthy of good bubbly!  Well, not worthy enough to buy $40 bottles of good bubbly, but worthy of $3 bottles of homemade bubbly!  Last year I made some killer blackberry liqueur which is awesome when added to the bubbly.  This year, guess what my blueberries will be doing?

Well, enough whining because it’s 5:00 somewhere! Cheers!

11 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. nancyspoint
    Jun 01, 2011 @ 16:06:01

    Lisa, You continue to surprise me with your antics! I’m glad you have found a hobby you enjoy so much! And saving money the whole time too. Good for you!

    Reply

  2. Lisa Gardner
    May 27, 2011 @ 12:25:18

    My husband has tried bottling wine, but he prefers to put it into a bag (like the boxed wines). It’s a lot easier to package. Another advantage–you can drink out of the bag for weeks, but an opened bottle of wine must be finished within a couple of days. (Not that a bag of wine lasts for weeks at our house…..)

    We are also toying with the idea of putting wine up in a keg, but we haven’t tried it yet.

    Reply

  3. Joyce
    May 27, 2011 @ 08:33:53

    I am ready to knock out a few bottles!!!!!!!

    Reply

  4. Jennifer
    May 26, 2011 @ 22:57:54

    It’s good to hear that you engage your daughter in this hobby of yours… Just like your son does to his innocent little girls. Save some bubbly for me — I will likely need a lot of it when we are out there next month. 24/7 with my kids for how many days… Sigh… Oh wait, will dearest Aunt Alex (otherwise known as Nanny) be coming up too????

    Reply

  5. Becky Warner
    May 26, 2011 @ 20:33:59

    I think you should bring some wine to knitting group…just sayin’ ;o)

    Reply

  6. KarmaPerDiem aka WhiteRiverBluff
    May 26, 2011 @ 19:21:43

    But didn’t you enjoy the mommy/daughter time we spent together cleaning those bottles??
    XOXOXO

    Reply

  7. lovely daughter
    May 26, 2011 @ 19:14:11

    Dearest Mommy,

    I do not enjoy peeling off wine bottle labels.

    Sincerely,
    Lovely Daughter

    Reply

Leave a Reply

