Forgiveness-Still Trying

Sometimes it’s hard being the better person.

One of my blogging friends, Sue, has an amazing post re: forgiveness.  I struggle with forgiveness, really struggle.  If you’ve read my blog, you understand this is one “item” I don’t handle well.

I had a horrific boss at the local college where I worked, and last year she hurt me in ways that not only illegal, but unimaginable.  To put it bluntly, one of my favorite quotes is by John Emerich Edward Dalberg Acton:  “Power tends to corrupt, and absolute power corrupts absolutely.  Great men are almost always bad men.”   Except she is NOT great.  Bad, not great.  Very, very bad.

I encourage you to check out Sue’s post.  I am going to get a copy of the book (by Dr. Frederic Luskin) she discusses and see if it can’t help me in my struggle to define “forgiveness.”  I think it just might.

Hum, it must be sad to be my former boss and realize she’s lost virtually all her friends and self-respect.  I have so much more than she will ever have.  Karma is a good thing!

3 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. JelliDonut
    May 16, 2011 @ 21:39:20

    I struggle with forgiveness every second of my life because I know that forgetness and forgiveness aren’t the same thing. But I try to let Karma be my guide, and I try not live in fear. Fun is good!

    Great blog!

    Reply

  2. Sue
    May 16, 2011 @ 18:02:54

    Lisa,
    I am so glad you found the post helpful! Karma is definitely a good thing and so it letting go of the resentment.
    Hugs,
    Sue

    Reply

Leave a Reply

