Are You Mom or Mommy?

Mommy loves Lovely Daughter!

I try to be Mommy even though Lovely Daughter is now 21.  Sometimes I’m Mom, but I don’t think I’ve ever been Mother.  My mother:  Mother.  Long story, but as the saying goes, “You can’t always get what you want.”  Lord knows I’ve made mistakes along the way, but there is no doubting my love for my children.

I have three children: one biological and two older stepsons in their early 30s.  I love my kids with all my heart because love doesn’t come from a cord.  When asked how many kids I have, I say, “Three.”  Also, my stepsons’ three children are MY grandbabies (even though I am NOT old enough to have given birth to these two stepsons–repeat, I am NOT old enough!); they know me as Grammy and will always know me as Grammy.  How lucky are they to have three grandmommies?!

This Mother’s Day I was fortunate that Lovely Daughter came home from college to cook me Eggs Benedict with fresh fruit and Mimosas.  Lovely Daughter is finally, I do believe, exhibiting signs of inheriting my love of cooking-—check out that beautiful homemade Hollandaise!  Egads, it was amazing!

On my friend Kim’s blog, she had a wonderful poem which I would love to share with you.  I so, so love this:

Not flesh of my flesh,
nor bone of my bone,
but still miraculously my own.
Never forget for a single minute,
you didn’t grow under my heart – but in it.

And yes, when I talk to my boys, I refer to myself as Stepmommy!

9 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Trackback: Another beautiful Mommy to Be! | amanda Jean photography
  2. Laurie
    May 10, 2011 @ 13:26:04

    Now I’m just Mom – starting to miss the Mommy days.

    I used to drive my mom nuts by calling her Ma. I had read the term in Lil Abner comics when I was little and thought it was hilarious.

    Reply

  3. Sue
    May 10, 2011 @ 02:57:12

    I used to be Mommy and still am occasionally, but mostly Mom now as my children think they are too old to use Mommy especially in front of their friends. I am glad you had a wonderful Mother’s Day and I am so happy to see you back on your blog.

    Reply

  4. Janet Taber
    May 09, 2011 @ 12:45:25

    Oh, just saw your Holy Moly Triangle Scarf and it is so neat!!!! Will you share you pattern??? Love it…and LOVE, LOVE Noro yarn…my fav!

    Reply

  5. Janet Taber
    May 09, 2011 @ 12:42:58

    I am Mom or Mama…equally….

    Your breakfast is/was BEAUTIFUL! Perhaps your Lovely Daughter could give me a hollandaise-making lesson….mine is always a flop. I no longer try.

    P.S. Will you be at the library Thursday to knit?? I have it on my calendar and hope to be there….but things do come up in my life, quite often, in fact. So I won’t hold my breath…but hope to meet you then!!!! 🙂

    Reply

Leave a Reply

