Bye-Bye Books

Go away digital readers.

One of my great pleasures is reading.  I was a precocious child (and a middle child—double whammy!) and taught myself to read by stealing my mother’s novels and Good Housekeeping magazines.  In first grade school officials wanted to put me in third grade, but my parents decided against it.  It was all because of reading.  In retrospect, based on my math skills, good call. . . .

I love books.   I honestly have a hard time falling asleep if I don’t read in bed prior to turning off the light.   I used to buy stacks of books, but came to the realization that I was never going to have a personal library and frankly moving boxes of books is a pain, even if the military is moving them for you. I am a huge library junkie and in front of me are eight books checked out four days ago.  I only buy a book if it is one I will continue using long after I’ve read it.  The books on this post are 1950’s books I just purchased at an antique store in St. Joseph, Missouri.  I’ve been reading all books regarding Julia Child and these were mentioned in her biography.

There was a report on the news other day that mentioned digital readers are taking over our beloved books, and it actually mentioned a date (sorry, I can’t remember the date!) when they believe all books will be digital.  Whoa Nellie!  How can did we let this happen?  It breaks my heart imagining future generations being unable to browse book stores and antique stores for cherished books.  I have cute little antique books all over my house.  There’s one about the Air Force I have placed under a C-130 model (my husband’s plane); I have antique gardening books; many signed books by authors I admire.  Borders Books is going out of business and shutting their doors.

I tried a Kindle.  Really, I did.  Tried it for two months.  Thought it was awesome; at first.  Then, I realized I missed the feel of a “real” book, the quickness of thumbing through back pages, the heft of the book, even the smell.  The darn reader wouldn’t turn pages fast enough for me.  I tested the Kindle and gave it back.

Try snuggling with your kids and a Kindle.

4 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. cpeezers
    Mar 10, 2011 @ 16:13:59

    I’ve started to consider the digital reader, but I don’t think I could ever give up books or even share them with the digital reader.

    I too am a library JUNKIE deluxe. 🙂 Thank goodness for awesome libraries!

    (we used to do the same thing with buying books. we finally also got tired of toting them from place to place!)

    Reply

  2. Sue
    Mar 08, 2011 @ 17:25:16

    Lisa,
    My husband got me a Kindle for Christmas, but I still love “real” books. I’m totally with you on struggling up with a good book. Plus the Kindle does not fit in my purse. I hope books do not totally go away until I am long gone. My daughter has a Nook, but she still likes touching and holding books too. I think there is room for both, but I guess that remains to be seen. Border’s biggest problem is they had so much space devoted to CDs and music and underestimated the power of iTunes. Barnes and Noble actually has free browsing of e-books on the Nook in their stores, so I am hopeful they will be around for a long time.

    Reply

  3. nancyspoint
    Mar 08, 2011 @ 17:17:42

    I love your last statement, try snuggling with your kids and a kindle. I love books too, real books. There is just something about them…I think it’s their timelessness. I can go back and page through ones I read at each stage of my life. I can plan for ones I want to read and even the one I’m trying to write! I am all for technology, so I’ll probably buy a Kindle someday, but not yet. I’ll keep holding onto (quite literally!) my books. Again, this reminds me, I need to get away from my computer more and read…

    Reply

  4. Stacey
    Mar 08, 2011 @ 15:36:08

    I’m with you. Love, love books. I could spend hours browsing libraries and bookstores, although I find myself getting frustrated about my lack of time to actually read. It’s been ages since I’ve finished a book. This blogging stuff takes up a lot of time! I’m torn about the Kindle. I don’t have one, but I’m considering it, only because I’m tired of carrying heavy books around. That’s really the only reason.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

