Upcycled Gift Bag Tamer

Who’Da thunk it?

My buddy R and I were out antiquing when I spotted this little gem of a dusty, wire basket for a buck.  That’s right:  $1.  One George Washington.  Obviously the proprietor thought it was junk.   How could I pass it up?  I brought it home, stuck it in the garage, and waited for BH to ask me what on earth I brought home.  He did and naturally I indignantly replied that yes,  I most certainly did have plans for it.  Hum, plans….

How nifty is this idea?  I had a huge stash of gift bags and frankly, they’re a pain to keep corralled.  I cleaned up the basket, laid 47 (yes, 47) bags inside, and laced it with ribbon.  I hung my ginormous spool of ribbon from the bottom and voila!  BH hung it in my craft room, and I feel much more organized!  It’s easy to grab a bag from either the top opening or between the ribbon.

Try looking at old, discarded items in a new way.  Let the right side of your brain take over and think outside the box, or outside the basket.

It’s a good thing.

14 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Stacey
    Jan 29, 2011 @ 18:42:02

    Lisa, I’ve been meaning to read this post for days. I’m so happy I finally did. What a great idea. Like everyone else, I have tons of gifts bags laying about, but wire baskets are sold everywhere. I love how you recycle stuff. Perfect, thanks for sharing.

    Reply

  2. Ginny Marie
    Jan 26, 2011 @ 07:36:09

    That is a great idea! I have a million gift bags, and they do get all over the place. I’m surprised your basket holds so many bags in such a small place…perfect!

    Reply

  3. Heather
    Jan 25, 2011 @ 14:58:21

    I love this! And need it… 🙂

    Reply

  4. Trackback: Tweets that mention Upcycled Gift Bag Tamer « Karma Per Diem -- Topsy.com
  5. Tricia @ {every}nothing wonderful
    Jan 25, 2011 @ 14:43:47

    Agree with the above – what a super idea!

    Reply

  6. cpeezers
    Jan 25, 2011 @ 12:45:46

    It is a wonderful idea! Thanks for sharing!

    Reply

  7. Charlie
    Jan 25, 2011 @ 12:29:43

    I agree with Janet! Country Home maybe? or Real Simple? or even Family fun!

    This is a gem of an idea Lisa! Love it!

    Reply

  8. Janet Taber
    Jan 25, 2011 @ 07:37:30

    Love it! You should send this very clever idea to some magazine–

    Reply

Leave a Reply

