Use It or Lose It

(Psst-I’m drinking “calm” Tazo!)

I have one very large set of dishes (Fiesta®) that BH and I bought on our honeymoon.  I have one 12 place setting of Oneida stainless silverware.  I use every single towel in my house.

My mother drives me bonkers because she has at least five sets of dishes and just as many sets of silverware. Reach for plates to set the table and she tells you no, not those plates.  She has beautiful crystal that lips have never touched. Towels that are look so soft and sumptuous.  Heaven forbid one should actually dry one’s hands on them.   She has jewelry from my great-grandmother and grandmother that never comes out of the safe.

I buy what I love and I use what I love.   Those beautiful handcrafted pottery mugs above?  Every single morning I drink my coffee from one of them.  I pick my mug according to my mood.  Feeling blue—yellow mug.   I’m slightly embarrassed by how much I’ve spent on this Alaskan potter’s work, but every piece is a memory and brings a smile to face.   I use them all the time: platters, bowls, pitchers, mugs, plates, etc.  My Bourbon Pecan Pralines–her candlestick.

This ring: my great-aunt who died from cancer two years ago.  She gave it to me when she discovered she had less than eight weeks to live.  At the time, her only pleasure left was to hand-pick personal, beloved items and know the person she bequeathed them to would love, use, and cherish them as she did.

Use it before you lose it. . . .

9 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. nancyspoint
    Jan 24, 2011 @ 14:49:20

    Lisa, Terrific post here with an important message! My cancer has taught me to quit saving stuff. For example, I had a few sweaters I was saving for “good.” When the heck is that?? I wear them all now, the wool ones and my one cashmere, who cares if they’re not machine washable?? If they get dirty so what? My grandma always said a person is more valuable than any dish and I have never forgotten those words. She probably said that after I broke something!

    Reply

  2. kim whitten
    Jan 23, 2011 @ 21:27:20

    Lisa, I love this post! I am wearing my Granny’s pearl ring in between my wedding set – it was her only engagement/wedding ring for years until my Pa could afford a diamond. The pearl was taken on trade for property by her father. My aunt who recently passed away from cancer had gone ahead and given it to me a few years back and I had it in a drawer. This past year I decided that was just crazy and pulled it out! It makes me so happy to wear that and this is a great reminder. 🙂

    Reply

    • KarmaPerDiem aka WhiteRiverBluff
      Jan 24, 2011 @ 06:22:17

      Thanks Kim; I think it’s awesome that you have your Granny’s pearl ring, and I love the story behind it. Hum, I wish I had a piece of my Grandma or Great Grandma’s jewelry to wear (are you listening Mom? That would be a no because she doesn’t have or even want a computer!).

      Reply

  3. Christina
    Jan 23, 2011 @ 18:39:50

    What a beautiful ring! Great advice which I have always tried to follow. Save it for what???!!! Enjoy it! I do this with my old quilts a lot. I just get em out and we cover up and enjoy them! Nothing like an old quilt.

    Reply

    • KarmaPerDiem aka WhiteRiverBluff
      Jan 24, 2011 @ 06:23:39

      Christina, that’s funny that you talked about your old quilts. One of the other items my Great Aunt gave me was a quilt that someone made for my Great Uncle when he was little. I have it hanging over my loft balcony and can see it now! I love cuddling with old quilts!

      Reply

  4. elizabeth
    Jan 23, 2011 @ 13:25:22

    This is beautiful. Thank you for the reminder. I have more heirlooms and past-downs than I know what to do with and most are in my attic. To make them special, you need stories and memories behind them. It sounds like you have a wonderful story about that lovely ring. Thanks for sharing.

    Reply

    • KarmaPerDiem aka WhiteRiverBluff
      Jan 23, 2011 @ 13:41:52

      Thanks Elizabeth. I agree that the more stories about heirlooms the more special they become, but in order to get those darn stories, you need to use them! So, get those heirlooms and past-downs out of the attic and start using them!
      Hugs, Lisa

      Reply

  5. Janet
    Jan 23, 2011 @ 11:13:42

    Very, very good advice–I need to learn from it. I do use most things but some are tucked away–and why???? To save? For what??? You are so right!
    P.S. Love that ring!

    Reply

    • KarmaPerDiem aka WhiteRiverBluff
      Jan 23, 2011 @ 13:01:24

      Isn’t that ring gorgeous, though? It’s so very special to me–it’s the first heirloom piece of jewelry I’ve received from a family member (hear that Mom?). I do use my special items all the time, and yes, occasionally I chip or break something, but that’s what Gorilla Glue is for; right?!

      Reply

Leave a Reply

