Failing of a Body

Blah.

My body is failing me.  Or maybe it’s that I’m failing my body.  I look back 15 years when I married Better Half and everything was so good, so perfect.  So healthy.  Now I’m an insurance company’s worst nightmare.

Prior to Christmas I joined a gym.  I was working out like a fiend; going to yoga.  Loving it.  I was determined to get me back. I was taking the breast cancer bull by the horn and gonna… something!   Boom—out like a light! Excruciating pain began in my lower back.   Fast forward three weeks later, and I find that the one bad disk I was already dealing with in my neck has magically turned into two bad disks and a lovely bonus:  a third bad disk in the lumbar spine.  Hello God—I’m a member of Gen X, this is ridiculous!

In two weeks I have an appointment with my hematologist-oncologist.  I’m scheduled for two body scans.  I have an appointment with my surgical oncologist.  I’m scheduled for a diagnostic mammogram.  I have an appointment with my neurologist.  I have two physical therapy appointments per week for twelve weeks.  I have an appointment to see my general practitioner.  All but the PT appointments are not local.   I’m tired.  So very tired.

So as I lay here flat on my back typing this depressing message, my message to you is first, I absolutely do not want pity, what I want to tell you is this:  if you enjoy good health, do not take it for granted.  Be grateful, and take care of yourself because someone like me would love to be in your shoes.

(As I was signing off on this post, BH recommended I buy some wine kits in order to increase my stash of wine and champagne—there’s light at the end of the dark tunnel!)

9 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Stacey
    Jan 17, 2011 @ 13:37:05

    Lisa, at times when I feel as you’ve describe here, your blog cheers me. You’re always so cheery and full of life, but not feeling well, topped off with the worries of all those appointments would get anyone down. It’s ok. There’s good things ahead (wine, choc cookies.) The appointments are needed, get them out of the way and report from your kitchen. We’re here.

    Reply

  2. nancyspoint
    Jan 17, 2011 @ 13:18:32

    I totally relate to all of those appointments! Ugh. In fact, today I am scheduling my next consultation about my next surgery. I said I was NOT calling until after the holidays. Well… Anyway, sorry about all that pain and discomfort. Hopefully you will feel better with some time. Good luck with all those appts. And no one should ever take good health for granted, but as flawed people, that’s what we tend to do.

    Reply

  3. cpeezers
    Jan 16, 2011 @ 19:56:30

    Thank you for sharing. I really try not to take things for granted, but sometimes someone like you – will point it out again and I am thankful for that.

    I am thinking of you as you go through all your appointments and treatment. Good luck!

    Reply

  4. julie tucker-wolek
    Jan 16, 2011 @ 07:44:25

    Oh sorry that you are going through this… on the flip side…glad they discovered what was wrong..I have been in extreme pain for years now… and pretty much took my very last dimes last year to go to a gazillion doctors to see what’s up…and not a one could pin point my problem….(all the while thinking that I am nutso, I’m sure! LOL!) Stay strong girl! :):):):):):):):):):):):):):):):):):):):):)

    Reply

  5. kathy cano-murillo
    Jan 15, 2011 @ 00:07:42

    thank you for sharing this, i am praying you recover so you can hit that gym again. love that you are keeping a good outlook and fighting all the way, never give in! xo!

    Reply

  6. Tricia @ {every}nothing wonderful
    Jan 14, 2011 @ 14:06:26

    I am not happy to hear this…I, of course, want health, wellness, and a pain-free life for you. I will say though, you are right, and I really need to get my butt out the door and to yoga…so I do appreciate the reminder (kick in the arse?).

    Hoping that healing vibes and boog things come your way…along with cases of wine.

    xoxo

    Reply

  7. Joyce
    Jan 14, 2011 @ 08:26:46

    Yes, I say start drinking the wine now. Better days are ahead.

    Reply

  8. Janet
    Jan 14, 2011 @ 08:06:15

    Hope your spirits rise as this day progresses and that you feel better soon!

    Reply

  9. Sandie {A Bloggable Life}
    Jan 14, 2011 @ 06:27:59

    I hear ya. It’s easy to take many things for granted, because we tend not to notice them when all is going well. I am thankful for my body & good health every day, because I’m aware of what a blessing it is.

    Stay strong! And more wine isn’t a bad idea. Do you like red wine? Had a great Malbec last weekend—thinking the brand was Norton Reserva? I reserve the right to be wrong on the name, but I think that was it.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

