Antique Sun Purple Pewter Shaker

The Color Purple.  Accidentally.

I’ve loved purple since I was a tot and Donny Osmond was all about purple!  Recently, my friend R rescued me and my bad back from the couch to go antiquing, and I spotted a little pile of purple pieces from clear across the room.  The owner stated that the glassware was originally clear but had been placed in sunlight and turned purple.  Of course, I did a bit of research and learned, “If  you have a clear jar that has turned purple then it was made before WWI when supplies of Manganese Dioxide, the chemical that causes old glass to turn purple in the sun, was cut off by German blockades.”  Didn’t know that, just knew I loved purple.

I think my purple shaker with a pewter lid was a steal at $6.50.  Looks great on my island sitting on top my antique French bread board with my other condiments!

8 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. nancyspoint
    Jan 13, 2011 @ 10:56:47

    This sounds like a good buy then for sure. I didn’t know that about glassware turning purple and will keep my eyes open for such items in the future. Just in case.

    Reply

  2. JulieD
    Jan 12, 2011 @ 22:54:12

    Wow! That’s really cool! It’s beautiful. I have a collection of depression era glassware that’s yellow and pink from my MIL, I love it. I wish I had somewhere to display it, it’s all in boxes right now.

    Reply

  3. kim whitten
    Jan 12, 2011 @ 22:42:30

    this is fantastic! Great fact too…TFS

    BTW, my favorite color as a child was pipple and Donny Osmond and his purple socks were in my nightly dreams. 🙂

    Reply

  4. Jennifer
    Jan 12, 2011 @ 11:13:14

    Did you know that Justin Bieber also loves purple? You’ll never guess where I learned that exciting tidbit of knowledge… 😉

    Reply

  5. Janet
    Jan 12, 2011 @ 07:19:25

    I agree–it was a real steal! Now let me in on the secret–where did you find it?

    Reply

Leave a Reply

