Poached Eggs 4 Incompetents

Eggscellent!

I’ve already explained in a previous post that while I am actually a very good cook, I basically suck eggs at cooking basic breakfast foods.  I can make a good cup of joe, but that’s about it.  Herein lies my dilemma.  Now that I’m a DG (Domestic Goddess) Better Half no longer even offers to cook breakfast.  What??  I’m expected to carry the role of DG and cook all the meals?  Jiminy Crickets.  Fine.  I always thought I was born in the wrong era anyway.

Eggs.  Love ’em.  Neighbor lady is selling her eggs (okay, not her eggs per se, but her chickens’ eggs) for $1.00 a dozen.  I’m in egg nirvana; except for the cooking part.

I love poached eggs, but I’ve tried all kinds of gadgets and tips (vinegar) to make them; all without success.  Then, one of my dearest friends told me her husband’s trick.  He’s a Cajun so, hello? he knows tricks.  It’s so ridiculously wonderfully amazing, I can’t believe I never heard of it before.  Ready?

Get a saucepan, turn the heat to medium, and put in a little oil (hello piggy grease).  Crack your eggs into the pan.  Once the whites start changing to white, pour a little water (for the two eggs above/below I used ¼ cup) in the pan and put on the lid (this is where glass lids are helpful).  The eggs will steam/poach and in a minute or so you have poached eggs!  You can lift them out with a slotted utensil or drain the water off and slide ’em on the plate.  I could have used a smaller pan (or use more eggs) and the eggs would have been more compact, and more traditionally “poached shape.”

Laissez les bons temps rouler! (oh, I too was born in Louisiana!)

5 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Monex
    Dec 18, 2010 @ 09:29:38

    Special pans with several small cups allow a number of eggs to be poached at the same time. Other methods of producing poached eggs such as using to keep the egg perfectly formed have been documented.

    Reply

  2. Roberta
    Dec 15, 2010 @ 09:40:50

    Hmmm, who was this friend?

    Reply

  3. Tricia @ {every}nothing wonderful
    Dec 14, 2010 @ 21:24:16

    oh my gosh YES!

    I tried for YEARS to poach eggs. Years. I went so far as to go to Sams club and buy that pack of 96 eggs just to get it right. I couldn’t. When we got married my husband offered to try. He got it right the very first time. Which made for a lot of hate sex. Finally I realized he followed different, super easy instructions:

    Bring a saucepan of water to boil. Add a splash or so of vinegar. Break eggs into a bowl. Turn off the heat, gently pour in the eggs (1 at a time), cover, leave alone for 5 mins. Perfectly done poached eggs.

    Bastard.

    *please excuse me for swearing on your otherwise very lovely blog.

    Reply

    • WhiteRiverBluff
      Dec 15, 2010 @ 08:17:49

      Girl, you are cracking me up. I have tried, tried that same trick of your hubs and I still can’t get it right. I agree with your assessment of your husband. Rat Bast#*&!

      Reply

Leave a Reply

