Meet My Father-in-Law

Everyone is the age of their heart.~Guatemalan Proverb

That handsome man above is my father-in-law. I took this snapshot at his 90th birthday party.  He was watching his great-grandson splash, upside down on his hands and feet, through a puddle. This picture makes me smile because it depicts my father-in-law perfectly.  I have never, ever seen him in anything but a good mood.  Ever.  I have never heard him speak an ill word about anyone.  Ever.  He is kind and gentle.

My husband was a late-in-life baby, and “the baby” of the brood.  He tells me this kind temperament is the only way his father has ever been, even when my husband, as a teenager, accidentally shot off a gun in his dad’s basement.  I would have beaten my kid within an inch of his/her life.  Forget the gun, my hands would have been deadly weapons!

There are so, so many crazy stories of my husband’s teenage years.  His father is a saint.

Oh, and here’s the best part:  this past Monday my father-in-law handed in his two-week notice.   How awesome is that?   Happy 90th Lawrence—you really are the cream of the crop!

6 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Christina
    Nov 26, 2010 @ 20:21:24

    I love that photo! I wish I could meet him!

    Reply

  2. Michael G.
    Nov 24, 2010 @ 00:58:50

    That photo is just magnificent. He sound, and looks, like a kind, gentle and very special man.

    Reply

  3. kim whitten
    Nov 23, 2010 @ 23:12:45

    Wow – what a picture! He looks so kind. 🙂

    We need to fix he and my MIL up! She turns 91 in a couple of weeks, and just quit working at Wal-Mart this year and quit driving Nov. last year! (she lives with us, but we won’t go there!)

    Great story to pass along to your children.

    Reply

  4. Trackback: Tweets that mention Meet My Father-in-Law « Karma Per Diem -- Topsy.com
  5. Liz (Made in Lowell)
    Nov 23, 2010 @ 20:58:32

    This is wonderful! I love that picture and the story. Very touching. My husband and I are both late babies and have older parents we treasure. His dad is 87 and mine’s a spry 80 🙂 Our moms are doing great too, we are so lucky to still have them all (both sets married for well over 50 years now). Thanks for sharing this!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

