Uber Tubers!

I’m a spud farmer and didn’t know it.

How can that be?  Well, apparently when one picks up a sweet potato vine at their garden center, at the end of its growing season it will produce a potato! Seriously, all these years of buying these darn things, and I never knew I had a lovely spud in the mix!  Did you know that?

I’m trying an experiment.  I had a lime and purple sweet potato vines (which produced one tater each) so I’m trying the old avocado pit/toothpick trick by growing them in water.  I’ll report on their progress . . . or failure.  They’re already rooting.  By the way, that little vase on the right is a $1 thrift find.  Love the colors.

Maybe I should just go ahead and boil ’em, mash ’em, butter ’em, and eat ’em.  Nah, I’ll be patient.

Gosh darn it, I love the spud.

4 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Stacey
    Nov 20, 2010 @ 07:59:03

    I just love your posts. They make smile every time.

    Reply

  2. Sandie {A Bloggable Life}
    Nov 19, 2010 @ 21:48:10

    A $1 thrift store find—I could put that pitcher to use in so many of my food photos…

    Good luck with your tater-growing adventure!

    Reply

  3. Trackback: Tweets that mention It's all about the Uber Tuber! -- Topsy.com

Leave a Reply

