Ye olde Birdcage Birdfeeder

Snowman or feeder?

I do love a bargain.  I love it even more when Better Half loves a bargain which, when he’s shopping with me, doesn’t happen often.  However, this past week found us in the Big City with time to spare so we walked to an antique/junk store to waste an hour.  Honestly, I couldn’t find anything in this rather large store, which was shocking even to me, and was ready to leave when Better Half asked if I’d seen the birdcage outside the door.  Criminy, not this birdcage thingy again?

Better Half, for years, has reiterated to me his dream of owning an antique birdcage turned into a birdfeeder.  I just nod my head and start adding how many years before it doesn’t look strange for him to be put in a nursing home.  A birdcage birdfeeder?  Not on my watch!

I rolled my eyes, and walked to the front door.  OMG.  The birdcage of my his dreams.  I really saw his vision!  It was so cool, old, and heavy; about 3′ tall.  Even if the birdfeeder idea didn’t materialize, my mind was racing with things I could do with this gem.  I was dreading how much it was going to cost for this vision to become a reality, when the sweet little English proprietor said $12.  $12?  Are you serious?  SOLD!  We took the snowman, er, birdcage home, painted two planters to put inside it, filled the planters with birdseed and immediately birds flocked (haha) to it.  We had opened the doors to the cage so they could enter and leave, but I think now we’ll be closing them because these birds don’t believe in entering through the front door.  They enter through the “walls.”  It’s awesome.  We even have them sitting on the swings.  We’re thinking big-time now: more cages for a birdcage tree!

Jeez, now I’m going to have to look for a double bed at the nursing home. . . .

3 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Sandie {A Bloggable Life}
    Nov 19, 2010 @ 21:49:54

    That’s adorable. I found 1/2 a birdcage last Saturday I really liked. Too bad it wasn’t 1/2 the price 😉

    Reply

  2. Joyce
    Nov 15, 2010 @ 08:32:31

    Okay, now I really really want a birdcage. Maybe I’ll find one this weekend!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

