Pumpkin Pavlova

Should be Pumpkin PavLOVE

It’s no secret I’m a huge fan of the orange orb.  It’s also no secret (at least to Better Half) that I experiment a lot and sometimes things work and sometimes-well, not so much.

I was tweeting that I was thinking of making pumpkin pavlova for an upcoming dinner when Sandie of A Bloggable Life shared a recipe with me that she had obtained from Jen, blogger of The Fabled Needle.

I made the meringue portion and sat the poor naked thing on the counter for the day.  Better Half looked at the meringue.  And looked at it.  Looked at me, and turned his eyes back towards the meringue, watching it sink (as they do).  He looked again.  Looked at me.  I told him I was sure it would be okay.  He asked about a back-up plan.  I made him leave the kitchen.

What Better Half didn’t know, but what I knew, was that this Pavlova was going to rock our world; and boy did it!  I tweaked the recipe a bit, making a homemade pudding versus the instant pudding, and using fresh-roasted pumpkin from my garden (natch!).  I also made a homemade butterscotch sauce for drizzling.

Are you drooling?  Around the dinner table last night we were all moaning about how awesome it tasted.   Better Half, who does not hold his opinions back, gave it his seal of approval!  Now we have a new favorite dessert for Thanksgiving!

Thanks Sandie and Jen!

4 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Debra
    Nov 08, 2010 @ 20:33:07

    That looks heavenly!

    Reply

  2. Sandie {A Bloggable Life}
    Nov 08, 2010 @ 16:26:46

    What an awesome post! I am so glad this recipe turned out well for you & everyone loved it. I would have felt terrible if you termed it a bummer. Beautiful photo too!

    Reply

  3. Young Wifey
    Nov 08, 2010 @ 15:29:42

    Interesting, I’ve never tried pumpkin with pavlova.

    Reply

  4. Tricia @ {every}nothing wonderful
    Nov 08, 2010 @ 15:13:20

    Oh my – amazing! I have to try this!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

