Autumn Soup

On cool days soup warms the soul.

While leafing through Food Network Magazine, a stew recipe caught my eye.  It sounded so yummy and delicious I knew I had to make it.  Immediately.  Problems:  1) it was for a slow-cooker and it was already noon—no time for dried beans to cook; 2) I needed to run to the store to get more ingredients; 3) I wanted pasta with the soup;  and 4) my local grocery store has never carried Swiss chard.

Hum…  Time is a-wasting… Aha!  I decided that I could still use the slow cooker, but I would improvise the ingredients.  The biggest bonus is that I could wait until 3:00 p.m. to put everything in the slow-cooker.  Dinner was ready by 6:00.  The original recipe can be found here: Slow-Cooker Squash Stew and my changes are:  1) I used two cans of cooked chick peas, drained and rinsed; 2) I used kale instead of Swiss chard; 3) I also used celery; 4) I roasted the squash, celery and onions for 25 minutes prior to putting the soup together; 5) I used chicken stock instead of water; and 6) Prior to serving I put in cooked cheese tortellini.  Everything else in the original recipe I kept the same.

The soup was simply a perfect ending to a perfect cool fall day.

2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. bugoliath
    Nov 01, 2010 @ 09:50:01

    Just came in from outside where the temp is hovering in the 30’s. That soup would certainly take the chill off and as always, your photo is gorgeous.
    Thanks for posting.

    Reply

  2. Tes
    Nov 01, 2010 @ 09:09:08

    The soup looks healthy and delicious. It’s so perfect for a family dinner.
    Thanks for sharing!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

