Meet My Pink Co-Survivor

Whenever I want throttle my kid, she throws me for a loop and the moment passes.  Look for her—she’s the one wearing pink every day in October (want to see a pink shirt get good use; send it this way because it will receive exposure!).

When I was diagnosed with breast cancer four years ago, among the shock, horror, and disbelief was this little 5′ pink star who became, in essence, the bell that notified Better Half when something was wrong.  Like a little fairy, she hovered quietly, listening, watching.  She wouldn’t, or couldn’t, talk to me about my cancer.  The only time I saw her laugh was when she, Better Half, and myself held a shaving party.  My hair was falling out in clumps; I needed a good shave.  A shaving party.   They were laughing and smiling, fumbling with the shaver, trying to make me feel better.  I was wobbly, sick.  I felt like I was dying inside, but that day there were two pink stars beside me. . . .

When I had my last chemo treatment, my family came to watch me ring the bell signaling I was done.  Finished.  Hopefully.  My daughter was 16 and terrified.   I could see from where I was standing that she looked about 5 years old—scared to death to walk through that room.  I remembered the first time Better Half and I saw the chemo room.  As we stepped off the elevator I felt a bolt of lightning run through my veins.  It was so powerful that I had a physical reaction.  I did not want to go in that room.  Ever.  It wasn’t a pretty room, but the people in it were gorgeous.  Absolutely stunning and beautiful.

After chemo, this little pink star really shone.  Who else would have enough courage to wear a Save the TaTas® shirt to high school and upon being made to change out of it by a pious, ignorant principal, would wear the exact same shirt on her very last day of school?  Who else would chalk her car windows with pink ribbons and breast cancer awareness messages for the past three years, and upon being told by Better Half to please clean her windows so she could see [a good thing], would rebel and chalk tinier ribbons on her car windows?  A breast cancer event?  There she is, all bejeweled and pink-ribboned!

God, I love that kid.  I can’t say I agree with everything she does, but she’s passionate about her beliefs.  Major karma stored up.  Give the kid a cause and she’s a life-time member.  A pink rock star.  My pink rock star.

In the time it took you to read this post, another woman was diagnosed with breast cancer.

11 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Trackback: Meet My Pink Co-Survivor « Journeying Beyond Breast Cancer
  2. Roberta
    Oct 08, 2010 @ 09:30:38

    That is the best picture of Alex ever!

    Reply

  3. bethany
    Oct 06, 2010 @ 09:33:39

    What a marvelous daughter you have! I absolutely love it and considered for a moment dyeing my hair pink for Oct. as well. Continued good health to you! Now I’m going to slather your post around if that’s ok with you!

    Reply

    • Karma Per Diem
      Oct 06, 2010 @ 09:52:23

      Thank you Bethany! I do love her so very much…. Go ahead and dye that hair pink–we use a wash in/wash out product–it’s fun for all breast cancer events. I really do appreciate you slathering (love that word!) my post around! God bless you!
      Hugs, Lisa

      Reply

  4. kim whitten
    Oct 04, 2010 @ 22:04:48

    Wow Lisa!
    First of all, your pink rock star definitely looks like her Mom: Same infectious smile! 🙂
    Cannot imagine how proud you are for her passion and love.
    I’m so looking forward to Saturday the 16th! You will be on my mind and in my heart as I run that race. 😀

    Reply

    • Karma Per Diem
      Oct 05, 2010 @ 07:12:17

      Kim, you are so sweet. You will be a forever friend….
      I too will be thinking of you at the Race (can’t wait!) as well as all the friends and family we have lost over the years to cancer. You are one special lady!
      🙂

      Reply

  5. lovely daughter/warrior in pink
    Oct 04, 2010 @ 19:25:50

    I love you Mommy!!!! Best post ever!!! By the way I think we should do passionately pink for the cure events. They have some really cool ideas about like bake sales and cooking parties and stuff that you’ll really like. LOVE YOU!!!! Happy breast cancer awareness month!

    Reply

  6. Julie M.
    Oct 04, 2010 @ 10:50:59

    You have me in tears over here. Your daughter sounds like a true guardian angel. I’ll bet her love and support brought on more healing than any round of chemo could ever provide. Thank you for sharing her with us.

    Reply

    • Karma Per Diem
      Oct 04, 2010 @ 10:55:19

      Thank you. It took me four days to write this. I cried and cried while writing it. I am tearing up now just thinking about her. I do love her so, so much! She’s my little pint-sized hero.

      Reply

Leave a Reply

