Asian Glazed Salmon

I’m a big-time salmon snob.  Can’t help it—that’s what happens when you have lived near Alaskan rivers where catching fresh salmon is a given (and a privilege).  Before that sweet life experience, I bought canned salmon in the grocery store and never gave it a second thought–shudder!  The summer before Better Half and I moved back to what we thought would be civilization (better known as the Lower 48), we fished like maniacs that last bittersweet Alaskan summer, and I canned (not the same as grocery store canned) over 12 cases of fresh and smoked salmon (I told you in an earlier post I love fishing!).  We ate on it for about 3 years.  Alas, no more.  Sad.  So very sad.  On a recent trip to the big city I packed a cooler and was thrilled when I found sockeye (aka red) salmon fresh from Canada.  It’s not Alaskan, but eh (Canadian pun- I crack myself up!), they’re neighbors!

Asian Glazed Salmon

1 pound fresh Alaskan (or Canadian) salmon
⅓ cup brown sugar
1½ tablespoons sesame oil
¼ teaspoon Mongolian fire oil
2 tablespoons rice wine vinegar
1 teaspoon sesame seeds
⅛ teaspoon hot pepper flakes
Garnish: sesame seeds and chopped green scallions

Preheat oven to 350° (these are also yummy grilled).  Cut salmon into four fillets and place on parchment lined baking sheet.  Mix next 6 ingredients together.  Spread about 2 tablespoons glaze over fish and place fish in oven.  After approximately 10 minutes, spread additional 1 tablespoon glaze over fish.  Continue cooking until fish is done (about 10 minutes per inch thickness).  Arrange fish on platter and drizzle remaining glaze over fish.  Garnish with sesame seeds and scallions.

I served this over a nice steamed Jasmine rice along with spinach sautéed with sesame oil and then drizzled with a smidgen of rice wine vinegar.  The next day I used chunks of the salmon in a nice green salad.  Delish, eh?!

4 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Aquariumfish
    Sep 23, 2010 @ 00:45:03

    I love visiting your site, I have bookmarked it

    Reply

  2. Trackback: Wine Glaze » Asian Glazed Salmon « Karma Per Diem
  3. Trackback: World Wide News Flash

Leave a Reply

