Summer, summer, go away

I’m sick of summer.  I don’t like summer; in fact, I despise summer.  So, with that in mind, let’s pretend it’s fall.  I’m going to try to make you feel better and along the way see if you too don’t feel 25º cooler.

Look what I picked today!  Fall produce–a miniature, yet ripe, butternut squash.  Um, roasted butternut squash, butternut squash soup, etc.  Leaves falling…

hand modeling courtesy of lovely daughter

We love butternut squash, although this is a little early to be ripe.  I always laugh when I see or hear the words “butternut squash.”  A few years ago, our family was playing a charade-like game and it was Better Half’s turn.  He put his hands up over his head like a ballerina and then swayed over the left.  Hum, we weren’t getting it, so he swayed over to the right.  Nope.  For the life of us, we could not figure out what the heck he was portraying.  His eyes got bigger, and he was bobbing and swaying, and finally we all lost it.  Better Half is not a game player unless it involves cards and something in the way of “shots” for losers…  You get my drift.  However, he was really getting into this game and his role.  Finally, the laughing crowd gave up, and he revealed his true self:  a butternut squash.  The laughter and snickering began again in earnest.  We still laugh about it to this day.  Let’s pretend it’s fall and admire my beautiful butternut squash.

What?  You still don’t feel 25º cooler?  Well, look at this gorgeous pumpkin growing in my yard.  Better Half amuses me and lets me plant weird things, and I wanted to plant a few varieties of pumpkins in a spare spot in our yard.  He was game for it.  He said he would sow his grass seed after my fun was over.  That’s just another reason I adore Better Half.  He indulges my whimsy side.

Okay, that’s all I got for you folks.  If you don’t feel cooler yet, well, wait until November.  I’m off to make smoothies for lovely daughter and myself, and then poof, she’s back off to college, and I’m back in the real world where it is 103.8º.  Oh, but before I close off, my daughter just received a very important phone call from her college and we’re whopping it up (can you hear us?)!  Good karma most definitely to the nice people at her college (go UCA); all colleges should be so nice….

103.8 Degree Smoothie

Blend together two bananas, 1 cup frozen strawberries, 3/4 cup frozen blueberries, 1 cup strawberry yogurt, 1/2 cup milk, 1/2 cup peach or apricot nectar.  Just chill…

4 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Debra
    Aug 16, 2010 @ 00:46:32

    I’m with you! I can’t wait for fall. This has been a most unbearable summer. I love your butternut squash and your husband’s imitation of one, lol. Nice pumpkin too. I’m envious, because like Lisa, the squash bugs killed all my squash and cucumber plants. 😦 Have a wonderful week!

    Reply

  2. lovely daughter
    Aug 13, 2010 @ 23:16:19

    Thanks for the props for my awesome hand modeling skills.

    Reply

  3. Lisa
    Aug 13, 2010 @ 18:17:36

    How do you keep the squash bugs away??? They’ve killed everything in my garden this year, including my cinderella pumpkins and marina di chiogga winter squash.

    Reply

    • Karma Per Diem
      Aug 13, 2010 @ 18:44:14

      It’s hard, but I find that a light dusting with Sevin dust on just where the vine goes into the ground, really helps. I really hate using pesticides and try hard not to use them, but I’m very careful with the Sevin dust and use it sparingly and apply it with a fine mesh strainer. Eventually though, the darn bugs seem to win! Good luck and thank you so much for visiting. My first blog and I’m a beginner!

      Reply

Leave a Reply

