Watermelon Citron Granita

You can have a thousand “friends” on your social networking site, but seriously, are they friends?  Will they be there for you when you’re at your best and your worst?  I adore my friends.  Each one is unique, yet I find I am attracted to friends who are quirky; like me!

A week or so ago two dear friends and I stopped at a veggie/watermelon stand and all bought a yummy Cave City watermelon.  I stashed mine in the fridge and a few days later invited another good friend over for wine, homemade pesto, and watermelon.  A unique combination, yet it worked.  Well, maybe it worked because we drank a bottle of wine before we ever dug into the watermelon. . . .   Whatever, it worked!

I’ve been nibbling on leftover watermelon for a few days now, and decided that tonight I really deserved a treat.  Hum, what treat?  Should I make brownies?  Nah, I’ve been pretty good lately, and there is no doubt whatsoever in my mind that I would eat the entire pan.  Ah, the watermelon.  I cut up the last bit of watermelon and made a yummy granita.  No guilt, and I got a big healthy dose of Vitamin C, beta-carotene, etc.

Watermelon Citron Granita

Four cups seedless watermelon, cut in chunks

One tablespoon honey

Two tablespoons fresh lime juice

One tablespoon citron liqueur (or orange juice)

Tiny (very tiny) pinch of kosher salt, optional

Place first three ingredients in blender or food processor.  Pulse a few times until pulverized and no chunks remain.  Add liqueur (or juice).  Pour into a shallow pan and sprinkle with salt.  Place in freezer for 45 minutes, at which time you will run a fork (scraping with the tines) across the mixture to break it up.  Keeping the pan in the freezer, run the fork tines over the mixture every 20 minutes until the mixture looks like shards of glass and is no longer runny, approximately 2 hours.

It was a super yummy treat and I wish you were my friend so we could share this treat together.  Go spread good karma.

Leave a Reply

