Denim Rug

Amazingly Easy Denim Rug

I’m a big supporter of our local library.  I love books.  I must read before I go to bed.  If I don’t, I’m guaranteed insomnia.  I’ll read cookbooks or maps, if necessary.  I must read.   So, I was intrigued when our local library had on their “new” shelf  “The Feisty Stitcher” by Susan Wasinger, published by Lark Books (great craft website).  The cover was eye-catching and it seemed the projects would feed my self-imposed ADD, as well as my need for speed.  Anyway, I’ve now had the book checked out for about two months (benefits of having several cards).  Eventually, darn it, the library is going to want the book back….  What this tells me is that I need to buy this book.  I have even loaned it to a couple of friends to get their reaction.  It’s a cool book and the projects are all über easy and fascinating.

So besides mowing in 400°, this was my project today.  This Feisty Stitcher denim rug was begging to be made by me.  Begging, I tell you.  I’ll admit that it took a tad longer than the couple of hours stated, but I think it was well worth it, even though my Elna was smoking hot when  I turned it off.  It’s a smashing rug, baby!  The funny thing is, I hate wearing denim, but I really like denim otherwise.  I think I’ll put this rug in my laundry room.  I mean, denim goes with everything, right?

Do your crafty self a favor and go buy this book, okay?

You need five layers of denim.

After layering the denim, you will mark diagonal lines to prepare for sewing.

I used upholstery thread and a special quilting foot due to thickness.

You will cut through four (four, I tell you) layers between the seams.

Please, please do not cut through the fifth (bottom) layer (painfully hard to fix).

Stitch edge of rug and toss in washer with clean jeans (no detergent necessary).

When the cycle is complete, toss in dryer and it will start fluffing and fraying on its own.

Ta Da!

An amazingly easy denim rug–cute, no?

6 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Susan
    Nov 02, 2010 @ 13:28:51

    I also checked out this book from the library and see a handful of things I want to make, including the denim rug. Your rug turned out gorgeous! And I just so happen to have enough denim for this rug in my fabric stash….

    Reply

    • Karma Per Diem
      Nov 02, 2010 @ 22:23:55

      Thanks Susan. I too saw a handful of things I want to make from that book–very clever ideas! I have several friends who have made the rug and they all look awesome. The next one I am doing will be with colored denim that I recently bought–can’t wait to see how it turns out!

      Reply

  2. Alaska J
    Aug 15, 2010 @ 20:19:02

    Very cool!

    Reply

  3. B. hurst
    Aug 11, 2010 @ 13:24:49

    Love the rug!!!!!

    Reply

  4. Gumbo1956
    Aug 11, 2010 @ 09:18:49

    That is much cooler than it looked in the book! Good job!

    My birthday is coming up…hint, hint.

    Reply

  5. Jennifer, Cracker, Kaci, and Taryn
    Aug 11, 2010 @ 00:59:36

    LOVE this rug!!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

