Healthy Irish Brown Soda Bread

Relax—no yeast required!

Mmm, I love bread but with me trying to get back into my wedding “shorts” (yes, shorts) I have not been baking like I used to.   I spied the March, 2010 edition of Cooking Light in my doctor’s office.  In honor of St. Patrick’s Day it was full of great Irish recipes, and I’ve always wanted to attempt Irish soda bread and was surprised to realize it doesn’t contain yeast.  It’s a quick bread so even those scared of yeast (R, I’m talking to YOU!) can make this yummy, healthy bread.  (Although once you get started working with yeast you will get the hang of it and love the feel and texture of yeast goodies.)  The nutritional value of this bread is great: 160 calories a slice, 1.8 grams fat and 7.2 grams protein.  Enjoy!

Healthy Irish Brown Soda Bread

Cooking spray
2½ c whole-wheat flour
½ c all-purpose flour
½ c steel-cut oats (such as McCann’s)
2 T brown sugar
1 T wheat germ
1 t baking soda
1 t baking powder
½ t salt
2 c low-fat buttermilk
1 large egg, lightly beaten

Preheat oven to 325°.  Coat a 9 x 5–inch loaf pan with cooking spray.  Line the pan with parchment paper, and coat with cooking spray (I did not line with parchment and had great results).

Lightly spoon flours into dry measuring cups, and level with a knife.  Combine flours and next 6 ingredients (through salt).  Combine buttermilk and egg; add to flour mixture.  Stir just until combined.

Spoon the mixture into prepared pan. Bake at 325° for 1 hour and 5 minutes or until a wooden pick inserted in center comes out clean.  Invert bread onto a wire rack; cool completely.  Slice bread into 12 slices.

Don’t forget to wear green on the 17th!

P.S. to Lovely Daughter, I know this is your favorite holiday; enjoy sweetie!

 

6 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Lovely Daughter
    Mar 14, 2011 @ 00:10:45

    Haha thanks Mom! I was about to say that I want to try to make this since I made beer…errrr…something not in my apartment bread a few weeks ago ( which tasted excellent) and this looked easy and good too and then I saw your comment at the bottom. Three more days until my holiday!

    Reply

  2. Charlie
    Mar 12, 2011 @ 10:32:58

    This looks terrific! And I love Cooking Light. Great to see a recipe I hadn’t tagged already. Looking forward to making something new!

    P.S. My favorite is the shout out to your daughter at the end. One of my girls commented on my blog the other day… made my whole week!

    Reply

  3. cpeezers
    Mar 10, 2011 @ 16:12:09

    This does look really good. I made some soda bread for the first time last year, and we loved it. It was not this healthy of a recipe, but I’d been wanting to try it again. Thanks for sharing!

    Reply

  4. Sue
    Mar 10, 2011 @ 16:07:29

    Lisa,
    It looks good. My darling daughter decided to give up bread for Lent, so maybe I’ll make it after Easter instead of for St. Paddy’s Day.

    Reply

  5. Rufus' Food and Spirit Guide
    Mar 10, 2011 @ 14:19:23

    Love steel-cut oats. Will have to give this one a try.

    Reply

  6. Janet Taber
    Mar 10, 2011 @ 14:10:05

    Sounds good….I’ve copied and will give it a try, in about exactly one week!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 54 other followers

