Unraveling. . . .

Yarn—not life!

Recently Better Half and I took off on some little jaunts to different parts of Missouri, one of our favorite states.  In a particularly nice little town deep in the heart of wine country (What-you’re unaware of Missouri’s history of wineries?  They were on to luscious grapes before Napa knew what hit ‘em!) while strolling about a charming brick-lined street, I stopped in a second-hand store.  There it was:  an extra-large 100% bulky-cotton Gap sweater.  I’ve been wanting to try my hand at unraveling sweaters and recycling the yarn.  The sweater looked like it had never been worn.  I paid a whopping $1.50 and by the next day I had five HUGE balls of yarn.

Earlier this past year, my dear friend J had given me a pattern for a slouchy beret and while my recycled yarn was quite a bit thicker than the yarn required, I decided to give it a whirl.  Wowza, I had such fun.  I took my project with me while we traveled to the other side of Missouri to visit relatives and friends (J again!) and stare at our latest purchase: our new farm.  While knitting during the travels, BH and I talked about our dreams for our new farm and how we want to spend the remaining time we have together.  It was fun.  It was relaxing.  We took windy country roads.  We weren’t in a hurry to get anywhere.  We stopped and took cool pictures.

We unraveled. . . .

5 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Joyce
    Feb 28, 2011 @ 08:07:51

    Love the hat! Over the weekend, I learned of more cool/crafty places to shop in Independence! We have things to do!

    Reply

  2. Janet Taber
    Feb 28, 2011 @ 07:36:16

    While in the KC area, don’t forget to seek out Urban Arts & Crafts at the Briarwood development….across from Nell Hill’s….you’ll love UA&C!

    Reply

  3. Trackback: Recycled Yarn | Stitched In Love
  4. Sue
    Feb 27, 2011 @ 20:36:36

    You are very creative and thrifty! I want to see pictures of the farm.

    Reply

  5. Tatha
    Feb 27, 2011 @ 17:58:29

    Wow that is such a good idea! I had never thought of tearing out and using yarn or thread from pre-made sweaters! I can see myself now at the thrift stores picking up some sweaters and doing this! Thanks!

    Ever been to Pyrtle winery in Weston, Missouri? Cute little town. Antique malls and shops, and of course the winery. (North of Kansas City.)

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 54 other followers

