Lessons Learned From My Cat

Crazy Cat Lady….

Neither Better Half nor I had ever owned a cat, but we’d promised Lovely Daughter an animal when we moved from Alaska.  Enter this beautiful, 16-pound tuxedo cat.   Baxter’s been with us six years, and he makes me smile every single time I spy him.  When I couldn’t even lift my head off my pillow during those awful months of chemo, I’ll never forget BH bringing Baxter to my pillow (shocker!) and telling me someone wanted to say hi.  Even cynical BH (who admittedly can NOT stand cat hair) agrees this fella is unnaturally cool and smart.   He’s a lap cat or rather, a neck cat!  The closer he can be to me the happier he is.  He’s  super smart; so darn brilliant.  Here’s a short list of what I have learned from him:

  • Naps are a necessity.
  • You can eat the same amount of food every single day, but you will gain weight unless you exercise.
  • Some people just can’t be trusted.
  • Rodents can be tasty (hey, you ever had fried squirrel legs with gravy?).
  • Fresh water tastes best.
  • Yarn is loads of fun.
  • Hiding and pouncing on people can be great entertainment.
  • Milk does a body good.
  • Treats are always welcomed.
  • Snuggling next to a warm body is good for the soul.
  • Lemongrass is tasty.
  • Birds are fun to watch.
  • Dogs really are scary and annoying.

Thank you sweetie pie; YOU will be the reason I turn into a Crazy Cat Lady!

11 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. nancyspoint
    Jan 22, 2011 @ 08:30:45

    Great post! I am a dog person, but also appreciate cats more since my daughter often brings two to my house when she visits now. Cats have grown on me!! This kitty of yours is one lucky cat! Seriously, I strongly believe in the power of pets, be they canine or feline, to make our lives richer. Plus, their theraputic value is undeniable. My dogs were with me on the day of my diagnosis and I posted about that on one of my first posts. They really did help me get through that awful afternoon last spring. Great picture too! Thanks for sharing.

    Reply

  2. Lovely Daughter
    Jan 20, 2011 @ 21:31:06

    Awwwwww! Silly Baxter. I love that cat. Good picture of him mom. Hey remember that time when I walked into the garage and Better Half was sitting in a lawn chair drinking a beer with Baxter in his lap? Good times.

    Reply

  3. Sandie {A Bloggable Life |365}
    Jan 20, 2011 @ 10:34:44

    Love this post, Lisa! I’m a former dog person, turned cat person, turned dog person again, so I have to say Baxter is wrong on point 13: only SOME dogs are scary and annoying. Our dog is definitely not ;)

    All joking aside, I love animals, cats included and your list is right on—naps and snuggles are ‘da bomb!

    Reply

  4. kim whitten
    Jan 19, 2011 @ 23:11:27

    I must admit I’m not a cat fan (I’m crazy dog-chick) but I’ve had a couple who touched me down deep in my soul – amazing what our furbabies can teach us about life…more important things than some silly text book could ever try to teach us! I think Baxter looks pretty cool. Even for a cat! ;)

    Reply

  5. Conni
    Jan 19, 2011 @ 22:23:30

    That is funny. My parents have a large, very spoiled tuxedo cat….named BAXTER!

    Reply

  6. CultureChoc2010
    Jan 19, 2011 @ 09:32:03

    Cute!

    Reply

  7. Janet
    Jan 19, 2011 @ 08:25:43

    Absolutely adorable pic and a very sweet and touching tribute to an obviously beloved kitty!

    Reply

  8. Joyce
    Jan 19, 2011 @ 08:02:36

    This is the sweetest picture of Baxter. He is so darn cute.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 54 other followers

