Homemade Chevre

Is there such a thing as the Goat Police?

I started making cheese about two years ago when a former coworker introduced me to his newest hobby: homemade feta cheese.  I made the feta and realized I no longer needed a grocery store to buy feta cheese.  I so love my homemade feta.  Sublime.

In turn, I introduced a dear friend to the making of feta and she took it a step further: chevre.  Oh my.  I can’t stop making it.  I’ve been buying my goat milk at the grocery store, but have tried to buy it from local goat farmers.  The problem is that they can not sell the milk for human consumption, only baby goat consumption.  Baaaa (my whine-aware it’s a sheep sound—how does one bleat?).  Apparently there are different methods/rules of sanitation for processing to allow for the milk to be sold for humans.  Blah, blah.  However, I’m really tempted to buy some for “my baby goat” (some kids have imaginary friends, mine just happens to be a goat) and try it.  I mean, seriously, in the “olden days” didn’t people drink fresh goat milk?  What, are the Goat Police going to arrest me?  I’d love to hear from some goat “professionals” on this.

Regardless, I adore my goat cheese.  Better Half and I eat it plain, with roasted garlic,  sprinkled with various herbs and spices, etc.  Visit Fias Co Farm for the recipe I use.

Baaa Baaa.

3 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. LSP FARM
    Nov 18, 2010 @ 17:41:28

    Our state, louisiana, is terribly restrictive on raw milk. You must be a grade A dairy, state licensed and inspected to sell milk. Also it must be pasturized. The small scale producer is out of luck unless… they sell their goats milk for animal consumption ;) lots of animals around here drinking goats milk lol!

    Reply

  2. kim whitten
    Nov 17, 2010 @ 22:36:22

    Oh how I love me some feta! We say feta makes it betta! ;)

    I think you should just get yourself a dairy goat and learn to milk that sucker. (and when you do, please post some pictures!) hehe

    Reply

  3. Trackback: Tweets that mention Homemade Chevre « Karma Per Diem -- Topsy.com

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 56 other followers

