Lemongrass/Ginger/Mango Agua Fresca

For the last month (okay, the entire summer) my mantra has been:  I hate summer.  With that thought constantly in my mind and flowing out my mouth, I’m aware I am not drinking enough water.  I like water, but hum, I seem really preoccupied lately, and before I know it, half the day has passed and other than my mandatory cup of joe in the a.m., I realize I’m slightly dehydrated and (yawn) H2O all day is so boring.  I’m not a soda or tea drinker.  Juice and milk are a little much all day long,  so here’s my non-boring solution: Agua Fresca.  I think Better Half will like this drink, although I doth think I might need to make another batch!

I feel like I’m in Mexico already!

Lemongrass/Ginger/Mango Agua Fresca

(Wow, that’s a mouthful!)

12″ stalk of lemongrass, cut in six pieces
2″ piece of ginger root, thinly sliced
2 mangoes, peeled, seeded, and cut into chunks
½ lime (unpeeled)
½ cup sugar
12½ cups water, divided

Mix sugar and ½ cup of water in small pan.  Pound lemongrass with meat mallet to help release juices.  Add lemongrass and ginger to sugar water.  Heat until just boiling and remove from heat.  Allow to completely cool and remove lemongrass and ginger.

In blender, puree lime, mangoes, and 4 cups of water.  Strain mango mixture using a sieve (pushing the pulpy bits to release juices).  Discard pulp.  Mix mango mixture with lemongrass/ginger syrup and remaining 8 cups of water.  ah! refrescante!

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 56 other followers

